9.0 out of 10 Review

World of Warcraft: Legion Review [PC]

by Alex Langley September 9, 2016 @ 9:20 AM
While many other games would have petered off and sequeled up by now, World of Warcraft is a beast unlike any other, and has continued to evolve, changing, shifting, altering itself with each expansion pack until it barely resembles its original iteration. World of Warcraft: Legion brings a new transformation to WoW, making it into something smaller, sleeker; a creature far more befitting the modern gamer.

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided Review (PlayStation 4)

by Luke Brown August 19, 2016 @ 10:56 AM
With Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, Eidos Montreal once again shows it has a lot of great ideas of how games in this genre can evolve. It's just a shame some of the narrative choices don't quite match the ideal they were clearly aiming to achieve.

Guilty Gear Xrd -Revelator- Review (PlayStation 4)

by T.J. Denzer June 7, 2016 @ 2:09 PM
Aksys Games
Guilty Gear Xrd is continuing to stand out as the game that deserves to bask in the spotlight. -Revelator- doesn’t reinvent the wheel the way -Sign- did, but it does add a significant amount of content and gloss to what was already awesome.

Hitman - Marrakesh Review (PlayStation 4)

by Danny Saya June 3, 2016 @ 1:00 PM
Square Enix
Hitman is shaping up to be the hit that no one saw coming. Despite the controversial decision to break the game into an episodic format, especially so close to its release, the format has served it well. If even just the few maps that have been released so far were released all at once, it would feel overwhelming. The time in between each batch of content is ample for digging into each of the incredibly dense environments and explore all of their nooks and crannies. Case in point, Marrakesh, the latest expansion for Hitman. This map is easily the most detailed and tightly packed so far.

Doom Review (Xbox One)

by Jason Fanelli May 19, 2016 @ 10:00 AM
-id Software
After finishing Wolfenstein: The New Order back in 2014 I put down the controller and thought to myself, “That was great, but when’s Doom’s turn?” The answer it turns out was “almost exactly two years later” as a new Doom has been unleashed from the team at id Software. Previous attempts to bring the classic shooter to the 3D space were not great, so I went into this new game with a slight sense of dread. Thankfully those previous games can’t hold a flashlight to this new Doom, as this is the return to glory that the franchise deserved.

Valkyria Chronicles Remastered Review (PlayStation 4)

by Sarah LeBoeuf May 10, 2016 @ 11:00 AM
I usually take very thorough notes when reviewing a game. I keep my notebook next to me at all times, pen ready, and will often take a break between rounds to jot down my thoughts. That didn’t happen with Valkyria Chronicles Remastered. Maybe it’s because I already played it back in 2008, when it originally launched on the PS3, but I found myself without words as I made my way through its early battles and story set-up. When I did finally pause to write something down, it was simply this: “This game is still so good.”

Severed Review (PS Vita)

by Luke Brown May 10, 2016 @ 8:18 AM
Drinkbox Studios
Few games are as stunningly beautiful as Drinkbox Studios' Severed. It's a game that's vibrant and full of life, with colors that pop off the screen. This liveliness is a direct contrast to the story and thematic content driving Severed, which is a somber tale of loss and righting the wrongs committed against our hero's family. It all serves as the foundation for a deep, action-intensive dungeon-crawler, that dishes all its gameplay out in perfectly sized segments. Though some developers have struggled to craft unique and memorable games for the Vita, Drinkbox has managed to do just that and then some with Severed.

Bravely Second Review (Nintendo 3DS)

by Alex Langley April 20, 2016 @ 12:00 PM
Square Enix
Square Enix fans often complain about seemingly contradictory things when it comes to their favorite RPG company. "Square Enix experiments too much," say some fans, "they redesign each Final Fantasy game so much that each one barely resembles the last." Other fans complain that Square Enix's other big RPG series, Dragon Warrior, doesn't experiment enough, and that its latest entries are still far too similar to the NES games of decades past. When Bravely Default arrived in 2012, it satisfied both camps thanks to its bold, yet familiar, RPG framework. Bravely Second continues in the footsteps of its predecessor, trying again to find that magic oasis of fun which balances out the old and the new.