8.5 out of 10 Review

Lego Marvel's Avengers Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Luke Brown January 26, 2016 @ 2:01 AM
TT Games
While Marvel's had a tremendous amount of success at the box office over the last decade, the comic publisher has been relatively quiet on the video game front comparatively. There have been a few exceptions to the rule, but Marvel has been almost singularly focused on the mobile game arena. Over the last three years however, TT Games has managed to release two Marvel games under the Lego banner to sate fans hungry for Marvel action on a console. Though TT Games has been delivering licensed Lego video game adventures for over a decade, Lego Marvel's Avengers feels as fun and fresh as it has in years. It also gives Marvel fans a new spin on stories and characters they've spent a great deal of time with since The Avengers hit theaters in 2012.

Game of Thrones, Episode 6: The Ice Dragon Review [Xbox One]

EDIT
by Luke Brown November 17, 2015 @ 11:01 AM
Telltale Games
The finale to Telltale's Game of Thrones first season has been a long time coming. For months, we've been lying in wait for the moment when the Forresters would be able to exact their revenge, and stake the true claim to Ironrath. It's been an tumultuous journey to get to this point, to be sure, but no one person's story in Game of Thrones ever goes quite the way it was envisioned. In the past year, we've done everything we could to try and make sure the Forresters didn't meet a horrible fate, and to ensure things worked out for the family struck with incredible tragedies. But we forgot one crucial thing--there are no happy endings in Westeros.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Jon Ledford November 11, 2015 @ 8:30 AM
Activision's three-year cycle of development for the Call of Duty series continues with Treyarch's latest entry, Black Ops III. The former Tony Hawk Pro Skater studio known for Call of Duty: World at War are taking things to the future with their third Black Ops title. Continuing in the footsteps of Sledgehammer Games' release of Advanced Warfare last year, Black Ops III fully moves things even later into the future. Some of the more acrobatic moves and skills we saw in both Titanfall and Advanced Warfare are making a return here, which might underwhelm some fans hoping for a different experience.

Assassin's Creed Syndicate Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Jon Ledford October 28, 2015 @ 11:01 AM
Ubisoft
After the underwhelming reception the masses had to Assassin's Creed Unity and its Titanic-sized glitches, Ubisoft has decided to take the franchise to the Industrial Revolution and turn the Templar war into Gangs of New York. All DiCaprio references aside, Assassin's Creed Syndicate is a proper return to form which makes amends for Unity's shortcomings while establishing itself as one of the finer entries of the franchise. The series last two solid entries, Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag and Assassin's Creed Rogue, took us across the Atlantic to the open seas of the new world, but Syndicate takes us to London as it's growing from the boom of the 19th century technology.

Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth - Rising Tide Review (PC)

EDIT
by Sarah LeBoeuf October 16, 2015 @ 12:13 PM
Firaxis
It’s not often that I stare at a game’s menu screen for a few moments just because it looks so good. That’s exactly what I caught myself doing the first time I loaded up Civilization: Beyond Earth with the Rising Tide expansion installed. The way light reflected off the rippling waves of the vast ocean was beautiful and soothing; what I didn’t know from those first few moments was how that body of water would change Beyond Earth for the better.

Transformers: Devastation Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Alex Langley October 12, 2015 @ 11:01 AM
Platinum Games
It's been an odd decade for Transformers fans. On the one hand, there's been more Transformers-related things coming out than ever, but on the other, most of those products are the god-awful Michael Bay Transformers (or their mind-blowingly bad tie-ins). Transformers: Devastation promises to it up to all the oldest of old-school 'bot fans, with a sound and style that harkens back to the Generation One television show. Oh, and it was made by Platinum Games. Get ready to have your energon blown, baby-bots, because there's so much more to this than meets the eye.

Destiny: The Taken King Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Danny Saya September 23, 2015 @ 8:15 AM
Bungie
The first year of Destiny has been a bumpy ride for Bungie. From an underwhelming final product to a very flimsy first DLC pack, Destiny has seen a lot of ups and downs in only its first year of a proposed ten year plan. The House of Wolves was a step in the right direction for the game, and even though the Taken King undoes some of what that DLC introduced, it is exactly what Destiny needed after it in order to progress.

Until Dawn Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Alex Langley September 1, 2015 @ 8:05 AM
Supermassive Games
By now, we all know how slasher movies go. The blonde girl gets killed first, the black guy doesn’t last much longer, and only the Last Girl (and possibly her male love interest) lives long enough to see the credits roll. Why? Because these characters tend to make very bad decisions, and never seem to realize just what kind of movie they’re caught in. But you, dear player, you know better. You’d get everyone to the end of that slasher movie without breaking a sweat. Now’s your chance to put your blood money where your dismembered mouth used to be in Supermassive Games’ Until Dawn.

Runbow Review (Wii U)

EDIT
by Luke Brown August 26, 2015 @ 9:54 AM
13AM Games
Competitive platforming has always been one of the weaker spots in my gaming repertoire. I'm a major spaz, and often my twitch reflexes guide me down the nearest endless shaft of doom or into a wall of spikes instead of keeping me out of harm's way. That doesn't mean I avoid games like Rayman Origins or New Super Mario Bros. all together, though. Quite the opposite in fact, as I just can't seem to keep myself away from these kinds of games. That's part of the reason I found myself awaiting the release of 13AM Games' Runbow. The other parts have to do with the frantic nine-player multiplayer action and that sweet visual aesthetic.