8.0 out of 10 Review

Attack on Titan Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Jason Fanelli 3 days ago
-Koei Tecmo
The ultra-popular Attack on Titan anime series has finally made its way to the video game world, with the minds behind the Dynasty Warriors franchise --- Omega Force and Koei Tecmo --- charged with the transition. I was hesitant to truly get excited for this new game, as I didn’t think Attack on Titan fit well into Omega Force style of game, but I’m happy to say that playing the game has proven me wrong... for the most part.

The Walking Dead: Michonne, Episode 3 - 'What We Deserve' Review (PC)

EDIT
by Luke Brown April 28, 2016 @ 11:00 AM
Telltale Games
The first two chapters of The Walking Dead: Michonne took some time getting to the core of what made this mini-series special. Both "In Too Deep" and "No Shelter" had some great introspective moments for Michonne, but the story points driving them along weren't nearly as compelling as what was unfolding in Michonne's head. With the final episode, all of the elements finally pull together to deliver a haunting, gut-wrenching conclusion that gives Michonne more depth, and will have you wondering if we get what we deserve or we deserve what we get.

1979 Revolution: Black Friday Review (PC)

EDIT
by T.J. Denzer April 22, 2016 @ 11:00 AM
Ink Stories
When we talk about video games, there is and perhaps always will be a debate going on about the fun factor of a game and how that dictates the game’s worth. iNK Stories & N-Fusion Interactive’s 1979 Revolution: Black Friday is the kind of game that is likely to add fuel to that debate. In a world where racial, religious and political tensions are still unfortunately in the spotlight, 1979 chooses to observe the revolution that took place in Iran against the monarchy led by Mohammad Reza Pahlavi. The game has some slight technical flaws and pacing issues that work against its goal, but it is nonetheless a gripping snapshot of human hope, passion and cruelty from a personal perspective.

SUPERHOT Review (PC)

EDIT
by T.J. Denzer February 25, 2016 @ 8:07 AM
SUPERHOT
SUPERHOT is a title that tells you very little about what you’re getting into. The description just barely gleans it. It’s a first-person shooter where time moves only when you move. The art style exposes only minimalistic qualities. None of it seems like pieces that could come together to form a coherent and full game, so it was hard to expect much going in. However, as the game played out, inviting us in and expanding, SUPERHOT quickly became something more than a funny name and a quirky mechanic. SUPERHOT is actually an impressive and interesting puzzle where the solution just happens to be shooting strange red enemies.

The Flame in the Flood Review (PC)

EDIT
by Luke Brown February 24, 2016 @ 10:53 AM
Molasses Flood
Life after the flood isn't easy, and The Flame in the Flood reminds you of that at every turn. With nothing but your loyal dog and a keen sense of crafting, you'll have to survive as long as you can if you hope to learn what happened to the world before the flood. The Flame in the Flood is a challenging survival game, but one that eases you into its world and mechanics well, allowing you to learn from your experiences without getting frustrated too early on. The longer you play, the more adept you get, and the more satisfying it is to make it down river. It's also that much more crushing to lose everything to those damned wolves.

Layers of Fear Review (PC)

EDIT
by T.J. Denzer February 14, 2016 @ 9:01 AM
Bloober Team
When a game takes aim at some of the heaviest of emotional torments, it’s always a tricky scenario on whether these matters will hit or miss. Insanity, depression, obsession, and fear can take on a myriad of forms within in a game, but proper conveyance in order to draw the player in and make these tones worth exploring is another task altogether. Layers of Fear is the kind of game that opens itself just enough to make players curious to see the whole picture. It teases clues to drive the player deeper and deeper into unraveling its disturbing mystery and despite its utterly macabre feel, it does a good job of getting us to see what new and dreadful thing was behind the next door.

Xenoblade Chronicles X Review (Wii U)

EDIT
by Jason Fanelli December 21, 2015 @ 11:01 AM
-Nintendo
I set out on another mission into the wilds of Mira, a gigantic world of untraveled terrain and unseen creatures where safety is never guaranteed no matter how prepared I think I am. The path to my next mission is clear, but there’s a lot of ground to cover between the peace of New Los Angeles and the unknown. I have a few teammates at my side and some new abilities to test, so there’s nothing else to do but set out. I must have had this conversation during my Xenoblade Chronicles X playthrough hundreds of times, as each return to the untamed world of Mira required such preparation. Xenoblade X is simply massive, the kind of game that a player like me who wants to explore every nook and cranny can get lost in for hours on end. Creatures of all shapes and sizes inhabit this world, making for plenty of opportunity to grow stronger with each battle and even more time spent in the wilderness. Xenoblade X thrives on its open-ended nature, to the point where the idea of reigning the player in is simply nonexistent.

Rainbow Six Siege Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by Jon Ledford December 4, 2015 @ 4:01 PM
Seven years after the release of the last Rainbow Six game, we've seen a multitude of strictly online-only FPS games come and go as the focus on blockbuster solo campaigns have started to dwindle. It takes a lot for a predominantly multiplayer FPS game to entice players to keep coming back for the long haul. Luckily, Rainbow Six Siege's unique brand of intense, tactical shootouts are unlike anything else in the first-person shooter scene.

Rise of the Tomb Raider Review (Xbox One)

EDIT
by Jason Fanelli November 9, 2015 @ 8:01 AM
-Square Enix
Lara Croft's return to form in the 2013 Tomb Raider reboot was very well done, but it lacked a few key features that made the franchise as legendary as it is today. Her followup adventure, Rise of the Tomb Raider, tries to bring those elements back and infuse them with the upgrades already in place. The result is a fun return to classic Tomb Raider form that takes a big leap but can't stick the landing.

Skylanders Superchargers Review (PlayStation 4)

EDIT
by T.J. Denzer September 28, 2015 @ 11:14 AM
Vicarious Visions
Skylanders Superchargers is the latest iteration of the popular toy-to-game series coming out of Activision and Vicarious Visions. In addition to the 117 fully playable characters from the previous entries of Skylanders comes 20 new characters, some brand-new and some favorites re-imagined, for the new adventure in Superchargers. The most notable update is the inclusion of 20 new vehicles that bring road, water, and sky-based levels and travel to your battles against the villainous Kaos. Superchargers supplies a distinctly unique and refreshing change to the usual Skylanders game, though this adventure isn’t quite the entirely fine-tuned ride it set out to be.