As the winners for the 2014 Writers Guild Awards were announced, we were glad to hear that lead writer from The Last of Us won gaming's big prize.

Facing some stiff competition from long-running franchises, The Last of Us managed to stand out from the crowd of frequent WGA nominees. Naughty Dog was up against Ubisoft's Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, which as a series, had already won twice previously. Batman: Arkham Origins, God of War: Ascension and (somehow) Lost Planet 3. Naughty Dog has been nominated before, but only took home the award once before for Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.

The rest of the 2014 Writers Guild Award winners are an impressive bunch. Spike Jonze won Best Original Screenplay for his writing done on 'Her.' Billy Ray won the Best Adapted Screenplay Award for 'Captain Phillips.' Vince Gilligan and his team of writers won the Writers Guild Award for Drama Series with 'Breaking Bad.' You can learn more about the awards and winners on the WGA's official site.

A special congratulations to Neil Druckmann and the rest of the Firefly team at Naughty Dog for bringing home such a prestigious and well-respected award.

More From Arcade Sushi